Colleen Hoover’s Writing Style and Themes of Interest.

Colleen Hoover’s Writing Style flows with what her inner person desires at any given time.

Hoover is a free-spirited novelist who does not follow strict scheduling when she writes.

She has described her writing style as “chaotic”, a reference to the free flow of thoughts without the confines of structure from the start.

Hoover writes freely, preferring to let her works flow from her pure inspiration and imagination.

Therefore, her characters are usually not the product of much research.

She does, however, includes many characters of which their backgrounds are familiar to her, such as characters coming from a poor background.

Hoover’s mind is usually loaded with ideas of wide variety; hence writing is a way of getting her thoughts out there

Colleen Hoover’s books cover several social themes such as psychological difficulties around deaths of loved ones, disability, incarceration, and violence.

It is not surprising that most of her notes may just end up in the bin, which she is very okay with.

She has stated that she does not use most of her notes in the end.

Criticism on Colleen Hoover’s Writing Style and Content

Colleen Hoover’s Writing Style and Themes have been criticized for glorifying trauma and toxic relationships. The negative feedback is common for most writers of fiction that have themes of abuse.

Examples are

Abuse romance fiction

Romance pain stories

Trauma fiction and several other themes of psychological oppression.

Drug abuse and addictions

Rebellion and aggression

However, it is not surprising that she focuses on social ills given her background.

The biography and life history of Colleen Hoover tells a story of a social science worker and training in the same field.

Books By Colleen Hoover

Slammed (2012)

Point of Retreat (2012)

This Girl (2013)

Hopeless (2013)

Losing Hope (2013)

Finding Cinderella (2014) novella

Maybe Someday (2014)

Maybe Not (2014) novella

Ugly Love (2014)

Never Never (2015) three part novella series with Tarryn Fisher

Confess (2015)

November 9 (2015)

Too Late (2016)

It Ends with Us (2016)

Without Merit (2017)

All Your Perfects (2018)

Verity (2018)

Maybe Now (2018)

Finding Perfect (2019) novella

Regretting You (2019)

Heart Bones (2020)

Layla (2020)

Reminders of Him (2022)

It Starts with Us (2022)

Leave your comment